

Executive Council: Armida Mucci, MD, PhD *President*

Oliver Pogarell, MD President Elect & Secretary

Dean F. Salisbury, PhD Immediate Past President, Chief Editor of Clinal EEG and Neuroscience

Newton Agrawal, MD, PhD Treasurer

Derek Fisher, PhD Assistant Treasurer

Past Presidents:

Norman Moore, MD E. Roy John, PhD Frank Duffy, MD Nashaat Boutros, MD David S. Cantor, PhD Ivan Bodis Wollner, MD, DSc Silvana Galderisi, MD, PhD

Councilors at Large:

Ivan Bodis-Wollner, MD Giorgio Di Lorenzo, MD Selahattin Gültekin, PhD Thomas Koenig, PhD Lukasz Konopka, PhD Bernd Saletu, MD Gerda Saletu-Zyhlarz, MD Tomiki Sumiyoshi, MD, PhD Elizabeth M. Zimmerman, PhD

Committee Chairs:

Membership: Derek Fisher, PhD

Conference Planning: Ivan Bodis Wollner, MD, DSc Silvana Galderisi, MD, PhD

Pharmaco EEG: Lukasz Konopka, PhD Bernd Saletu, MD

Publication & Website: Elizabeth M. Zimmerman, PhD

Examination Workgroup: Lukasz Konopka, PhD

Award Committee: Kemal Arikan, MD

ECNS

Electroencephalography and Clinical Neuroscience Society

ANNOUNCEMENT OF 2017 ECNS AWARDS WINNERS

ECNS is pleased to honor and acknowledge outstanding contributors and distinguished researchers in the field of Clinical Electrophysiology and Neuroimaging through its awards program.

Awards Winners for 2017, which will be presented at the BACI conference in Bern, are detailed below.

<u>Career Contribution Award</u>: This award is for senior scientists whose work has been influential in the field of Electrophysiology and Neuroimaging and has had high impact on research and clinical applications. Any scientist may be nominated by any member of ECNS. This award is considered the highest honor bestowed by the ECNS.

Awardee:



Erol Başar, Ph.D., Director Istanbul Kultur University Brain Dynamics and Cognition Research Center, Istanbul, Turkey. Erol Başar is one of the pioneers emphasizing the importance of oscillatory brain dynamics for integrative brain function and memory since the 1970s. He has published 18 books, over 200 other publications and 6 international conferences. His work has influenced the conceptualization and investigation of brain rhythms.

As per tradition, ECNS will ask one of his students to give a presentation highlighting the life work of the awardee.

Roy John Award: This award is for a scientist who has produced more than 50 articles that are indexed in the SCI. Any scientist may be nominated by any member of ECNS.

Awardee:



Dean F. Salisbury, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Director of the Clinical Neurophysiology Research Laboratory, Department of Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh. He earned his doctorate degree in Biological Psychology at the State University of New York at Stony Brook and completed a clinical research training fellowship focusing in Neuropsychiatry at the Harvard Medical School. Dr Salisbury spent 22 years at Harvard Medical School studying the neurophysiology of psychosis, and has been performing EEG/MEG/MRI multimodal imaging at the University of Pittsburgh since 2012.

The awardee will give the E. Roy John Memorial lecture and will receive \$1000.

<u>Young Investigator Awards</u>: This award is reserved to young researchers who demonstrated significant contributions to translational research in the field of Electrophysiology and Neuroimaging.

Awardees:

André Schmidt, MSc, PhD, Junior group leader, Department of Psychiatry (UPK), Clinical Depression Research, University of Basel, Switzerland



Keiichiro Nishida, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor at the Department of Neuropsychiatry, Kansai Medical University, Japan

The awards include \$500, and waiver of the Annual Congress registration.

Electroencephalography and Clinical Neuroscience Society c/o Newton Agrawal, Treasurer Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Quillen College of Medicine, Building 52, PO Box 70567, Johnson City, TN, 37614, Email: <u>ecns@ecnsweb.org; http://www.ecnsweb.org</u>



ECNS

Electroencephalography and Clinical Neuroscience Society

Executive Council: Armida Mucci, MD, PhD *President*

Oliver Pogarell, MD President Elect & Secretary

Dean F. Salisbury, PhD Immediate Past President, Chief Editor of Clinal EEG and Neuroscience

Newton Agrawal, MD, PhD Treasurer

Derek Fisher, PhD Assistant Treasurer

Past Presidents:

Norman Moore, MD E. Roy John, PhD Frank Duffy, MD Nashaat Boutros, MD David S. Cantor, PhD Ivan Bodis Wollner, MD, DSc Silvana Galderisi, MD, PhD

Councilors at Large:

Ivan Bodis-Wollner, MD Giorgio Di Lorenzo, MD Selahattin Gültekin, PhD Thomas Koenig, PhD Lukasz Konopka, PhD Bernd Saletu, MD Gerda Saletu-Zyhlarz, MD Tomiki Sumiyoshi, MD, PhD Elizabeth M. Zimmerman, PhD

Committee Chairs:

Membership: Derek Fisher, PhD

Conference Planning: Ivan Bodis Wollner, MD, DSc Silvana Galderisi, MD, PhD

Pharmaco EEG: Lukasz Konopka, PhD Bernd Saletu, MD

Publication & Website: Elizabeth M. Zimmerman, PhD

Examination Workgroup: Lukasz Konopka, PhD

Award Committee: Kemal Arikan, MD <u>Presidential Service Award</u>: This award is for outstanding service to ECNS. Any member of ECNS may be nominated by any of its members.

Awardee:



Kemal Arikan, MD, PhD, Professor of Psychiatry, Istanbul University, Istanbul, Turkey. He organized two ECNS meetings in Istanbul. The Satellite Meeting held on 2001, as well as the seventh annual meeting of ECNS held on 2010, in Istanbul.

Congratulations to all!

Naples, July 20, 2017

Armida Mucc